How to Unity

A PIN Pad in Unity

How to build a pin pad UI in Unity

Daniele Quero, PhD
4 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Some time ago I published this article in which I made a PIN verification feature in Unity to try out the potentialities of the InputField.

Today I’m going a little further and I’ll build something “really” usable in a videogame: a PIN pad for our PIN verification made of Unity UI elements!

This is what it looks like now:

The PIN Pad

The pad is composed of 12 Unity UI Button objects: 10 for the digits 0–9, a Clear and an Enter button. I first created a 50x50 button with all the common features, such as shape, text font, text size etc. and duplicated it.

To pack all the buttons in such a neat configuration, I put them in a single parent object and gave it the GridLayoutGroup component.

--

--

Daniele Quero, PhD

A professional developer with passion for game developing and skill-growing. A former Nuclear Physics Researcher who changed his life to pursue his dreams